

A Fine Weekend of Racing at the Telemark Nordic 2022 Teck BC Track Attack Championships

February 28, 2022, West Kelowna, BC: Telemark Nordic Club successfully hosted the 2022 Teck BC Track Attack Championships February 26th and 27th. Twenty one clubs from across BC and Washington State, and more than 250 racers born 2009 - 2012 raced in three events over two days. Track Attack (formerly known as Midgets) was first held at Telemark in 2001, the event was also held at Telemark in 2017, and this was the largest Track Attack event ever held, which speaks to the growing interest and passion for cross country skiing in BC.

"Events like these are opportunities to try out racing in a fun and supportive environment but it's also about encouraging a love of being active for life," said Brent Hobbs, Telemark Nordic Club Board President.

Team Telemark showed some excellent results with five podium finishes and nine top ten performances in the Classic race including Jake Ulansky placing first and Owen Elliot placing second out of 32 2011 boys, Grace Szabadi in second out of 22 in 2012 Girls. Also on the podium were Rio Sentesy fifth out of 37 in 2010 Boys and Kai Redman fifth out of 28 in 2009 Boys.

In the 1.5km Relay, the team once again stepped up the podium with third place for the Boys including Chase Plghin, Kai Redman, Rio Sentesy, Jake Ulansky and the Girls Relay Team of Bronwyn Sprules, Allie Bridge, Teagan Sprules and Madeleine Carroll.

In the Sprint Qualifier, the team enjoyed several top ten results and a fifth place finish for Chase Pighin in 2010 Boys, first and third place finish for Jake Ulansky and Elias Walker, respectively, with a fifth place for Owen Eliott in the 2011 Boys. Eva Ball placed fifth in 2011 Girls and Grace Szabadi placed third in 2012 Girls.

Race Results for Team Telemark

Saturday Feb. 26: 2.0 km Interval Start – Classic Technique

2009 Boys: Kai Redman 5, William Bertrand 20

2009 Girls: Bronwyn Sprules 10, Ayla Musselman Bell 19, Allie Bridge 21, Teagan Sprules 23, Madeleine

Carroll 24, Eloise Akins 27

2010 Boys: Rio Sentesy 5, Chase Pighin 13, Lachlan Carmichael 24, Elliott Bird 31, Luca Serravalli 32,

Barrett Sherger 37

2010 Girls: Jessica Wilkie 17, Robyn Tymm 26

2011 Boys: Jake Ulansky 1, Owen Elliot 2. Marcus Par 7, Elias Walker 8, Grayson Pendergast 22, Matthew

Koga 23, Oliver Khoo 30, Asher Van Dyk 32

2011 Girls: Kira Aaserud 8, Eva Ball 15, Anya Washbrook 16, Mika Verstraete 18, Jenna Kershaw 31,

Autumn Hendriks 32, Katherine Moore 33, Chantal Sperle 34, Kira Carpenter 35, Faye Barnett 36

2012 Boys: Oliver Akins 16, Milo Fershau 17, Jacques Cormier 21, Andrew Elliot 22, Linden Hayward 23,

Wesson Sherger 24, Rylan Cederholm 25, Brodie Hatch 26

2012 Girls: Grace Szabadi 2, Erika Shivers 16, Emie Ransom 17, Kiera Carmichael 20



Sunday, February 27th, 2022 300 m Sprint Qualifier – Free Technique

2009 Boys: Kai Redman 8, William Betrand 18

2009 Girls: Ayla Musselman Bell, 13, Madeleine Carroll 16, Teagan Sprules 20, Allie Bridge 26, Bronwyn

Sprules 28, Eloïse Akins 29

2010 Boys: Chase Pighin 5, Rio Sentesy 8, Lachlan Carmichael 21, Luca Serravalli 28, Elliott Bird 35

2010 Girls: Jessica Wilkie 13, Robyn Tymm 25

2011 Boys: Jake Ulansky 1, Elias Walker 3, Owen Elliot 5, Marcus Par 6, Matthew Koga 20, Grayson

Pendergast 25, Oliver Khoo 28, Andre Karden San 30

2011 Girls: Eva Ball 5, Kira Aaserud 8, Mika Verstraete 15, Anya Washbrook 17, Katherine Moore 29, Kira

Carpenter 30

2012 Boys: Oliver Akins 17, Andrew Elliot 20, Brodie Hatch 21

2012 Girls: Grace Szabadi 3, Emie Ransom 6, Kiera Carmichael 20, Erika Shivers 21

The Teck Track Attack Championships is an official, registered Cross Country BC event. All results available on **Zone 4**.